Warning: Do this at your own risk, I have not verified all functionality nor will I.  This would have been a nice feature out of the box, especially when working with TFS in build environments.  Here are some of the steps that I went through to make this happen.

Download Reflector – Point it to TF.exe to help discover all the dependent assemblies.  Make a list of all dependent assemblies that are not part of the .Net Framework (hint: most have TeamFoundation in the name).  It turns out those assemblies are in 2 different places, either:

  • GAC (%windir%\assembly)  or
  • C:\<Program Files Directory>\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\IDE

Create a directory and copy TF.exe and all dependent assemblies. 

  • Note:  you must use the command line to copy the files from the GAC.

That’s really about it.  I have been able to create workspaces, work folders, and do basic gets so far with no errors using this method. In total it looks to be about 50 assemblies and I am filtering out the ones that I truly don’t need (i.e.: Office and Test integration assemblies).

