This has finally gotten to me.  Every time that I connect my USB external drive, I the Autorun Dialog.

image

This is dialog that I want to be rid of.  Fortunately there are a lot of sites that give examples on how to do this.  The way I like is the following:

 

Create or modify a new DWORD named NoDriveTypeAutorun at the following key

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\Explorer

 

Here is a table of options you can choose from to set the value of this DWORD:

 

 

Hex                   Meaning

0x1                    Disables Autoplay on drives of unknown type.

0x4                    Disables Autoplay on removable drives.

0x8                    Disables Autoplay on fixed drives.

0x10                  Disables Autoplay on network drives.

0x20                  Disables Autoplay on CD-ROM drives.

0x40                  Disables Autoplay on RAM drives.

0x80                  Disables Autoplay on drives of unknown type.

0xFF                  Disables Autoplay on all types of drives

 

Technorati Tags: , ,
