I am a big fan of SlickRun.  I have been able to increase my productivity immensely with this tool, especially when working in different environments.  It is hard for me to keep up with unc paths, server names, etc…

I haven’t really used Windows Search much.  So when I first installed it yesterday, I noticed the ability to create your own shortcuts within the application. It was pretty simple.  The question now becomes, does Windows Search replace SlickRun.

Refer to these guidelines when you create shortcuts:

Example

Open a document
@shortcutname,c:\(document path)\(document name)
@resume,C:\resume.doc
To use the shortcut, type resume

Open a program
@shortcutname,=[program command]
@note,=notepad.exe
To use the shortcut, type note

Open a website
@shortcutname,webaddress
@hotmail,www.hotmail.com
To use the shortcut, type hotmail

Perform a web query
@shortcutname,webaddress$w
@quote,http://moneycentral.msn.com/scripts/webquote.dll?iPage=qd&Symbol=$w
To find a stock quote, type quote msft

From Microsoft’s help on Windows Desktop Search.  BTW,also works in executing AutoHotKey Scripts.

